By David Bowling (Blog Critics)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------If you
would like to hear from YOU. Why not send us your articles and your reviews and we will be more than happy to add them to our pages for other fans to read around the world. Share
your thoughts and opinions about the latest Elvis releases that you have added to your collection and help your fellow fans to know what is hot and what is not the best things to spend
their money on. You can do this by sending us an article/review (subject title "Article") to

- Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles do not necessarily represent the opinions or views of Elvis Express Radio and any of it's representatives. All opinions are the
personal opinions of the individual who has written the review/article. By submitting articles/reviews to Elvis Express Radio, the author accepts that the work automatically
becomes part of the E.E.R site and can be edited and/or used in any way that E.E.R deems appropriate. By submitting any work to E.E.R authors accept that their work will
remain on E.E.R for as long as the site owner/s deem necessary. All right reserved E.E.R © 2000.
Elvis’ Golden Records was released May 21, 1958. It became one of the biggest selling albums of
his career with sales in excess of 6,000,000 copies.

During the 1950s Elvis would release singles that were not contained on his studio albums. These
little 7-inch 45’s were an important ingredient in his popularity as their constant radio airplay kept him
in the public eye. When you think of the songs of Elvis Presley, many of them were singles and not
album tracks.

The original vinyl release contained 14 tracks, and nine of them were songs that had topped the
singles charts. Some people consider this release to have been the first greatest hits album. I have
no proof that it was actually the first album of its type, but it was certainly a very early best of

The history of American rock ‘n’ roll flows through this album.
“Hound Dog,” “All Shook Up,”
“Heartbreak Hotel,” “Jailhouse Rock,” “Too Much,” “Don’t Be Cruel,” “(Let Me Be Your)
Teddy Bear,” “Love Me Tender,”
and “I Want You, I Need You, I Love You” are all important
ingredients in the evolution of not only rock ‘n’ roll but in the development of American music.

Elvis Presley’s material has been released in many forms and configurations down through the years.
There have been massive box sets and cheap budget releases. While the songs contained on Elvis’ Golden Records have probably been reissued close to
one hundred times a piece, there is a lot to be said for this first compilation. It cuts to the chase as it presents many of his most important and memorable
songs from the early part of his career. You do not have to wade through a lot of extra or miscellaneous material to get to his best.

The album was reissued during 1997 with six bonus tracks. Three of his Sun Label releases,
“That’s All Right,” “Baby Let’s Play House,” and “Mystery
were added along with “Blue Suede Shoes,” which made an excellent album even better.

If you want a quick tour of the Elvis of the 1950s, this album is the place to start. An essential release for any rock collection.

Elvis' Golden Records (1958)
Side A
01. Hound Dog
02. Loving You
03. All Shook Up
04. Heartbreak Hotel
05. Jailhouse Rock
06. Love Me
07. Too Much

Side B
01. Don't Be Cruel
02. That's When Your Heartaches Begin
03. (Let Me Be Your) Teddy Bear
04. Love Me Tender
05. Treat Me Nice
06. Anyway You Want Me (That's How I Will Be)
07. I Want You, I Need You, I Love You

Bonus Tracks On CD (1997)
08. My Baby Left Me
09. I Was The One
10. That's All Right
11. Baby, Let's Play House
12. Mystery Train
13. Blue Suede Shoes