The new live album offering from Elvis Presley
By Jon Landau (Rolling Stone, 3/29/73)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------If you
would like to hear from YOU. Why not send us your articles and your reviews and we will be more than happy to add them to our pages for other fans to read around the world. Share
your thoughts and opinions about the latest Elvis releases that you have added to your collection and help your fellow fans to know what is hot and what is not the best things to spend
their money on. You can do this by sending us an article/review (subject title "Article") to

- Note: Opinions expressed in reviews and articles do not necessarily represent the opinions or views of Elvis Express Radio and any of it's representatives. All opinions are the
personal opinions of the individual who has written the review/article. By submitting articles/reviews to Elvis Express Radio, the author accepts that the work automatically
becomes part of the E.E.R site and can be edited and/or used in any way that E.E.R deems appropriate. By submitting any work to E.E.R authors accept that their work will
remain on E.E.R for as long as the site owner/s deem necessary. All right reserved E.E.R © 2000.
My God! Another live album from my hero. He's turning them out as fast as he once made movie
soundtracks. And with as little point, in view of the fact that the material, pattern, structure and sound
vary so little from record to record. On the other hand, they sell better than his current studio albums,
and those haven't exactly been aesthetic triumphs, so maybe there is some logic to it.

Just the same,
"Suspicious Minds" has been released live from Las Vegas, Madison Square Garden
and Hawaii and not one of these versions comes close to the sheer artistry of the Memphis studio
original. The live
"Burning Love" is a mockery of Elvis' best single since "Suspicious Minds."

The "American Trilogy," El's version of Mickey Newbury's simple but effective blending of "Dixie,"
"All My Trials"
and "The Battle Hymn of the Republic" doesn't generate anything near the power
of actually seeing him do it.

In the enjoyable documentary
'Elvis On Tour' he turns his performance into a visual drama. By
contrast, the live recording magnifies the worst element of Elvis' stage show -- the simplistic horn
arrangements, poorly performed -- while the film magnifies the depth of Elvis' commitment to the music.

I usually enjoy hearing him do the ballad staples he became identified with during the movie phase,
especially the by-now haunting
"Can't Help Falling in Love," with which he closes each concert (and
here given its worst recording yet). But when he strays into the pure Caesar's Palace repertory that
"What Now My Love," "You Gave Me a Mountain," and "My Way," depression crosses
over the line into disgust.
As usual, Elvis tries his hand with some recently popular chart material; thus, a mediocre "Something," and a bloated "Steamroller Blues," only partially
salvaged by some elegant James Burton lead guitar. The band is impersonal but astoundingly tight and professional throughout.

Charlie Gillett once noted that in his early records Elvis sang at the top of his vocal range but that soon after the move to RCA he started singing lower. The
high notes were the mark of an innocently beautiful approach to rock & roll singing, the bass ones more symptomatic of his penchant for self-mockery. And
on this album he seldom crawls past the middle register at all, a sure sign of what he's thinking about himself.

There are moments when he pushes past every fault of the format and generates not just smoke but fire -- as on a rousing
"See See Rider." But it is his
good moments more than the bad ones that remind me of Greil Marcus' comment that Elvis Presley's whole career has been a throwaway. Albums like this
one prove he was right. It is just that when I hear in the smallest ray of hope -- like the interplay between Presley's voice, Burton's guitar, and Ronny Tutt's
drums on "Rider" -- that I remember that there isn't a reason in the world why he couldn't make an album that was good from beginning to end. Does he
have to throw it all away?

Aloha From Hawaii Via Sattellite (RCA Victor R 213736)
Side A
01. Also Sprach Zarathustra
02. See See Rider
03. Burning Love
04. Something
05. You Gave Me a Mountain
06. Steamroller Blues

Side B
07. My Way
08. Love Me
09. Johnny B. Goode
10. It's Over
11. Blue Suede Shoes
12. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
13. I Can't Stop Loving You
14. Hound Dog

Side C
15. What Now My Love
16. Fever
17. Welcome to My World
18. Suspicious Minds
19. Introductions by Elvis

Side D
20. I'll Remember You
21. Long Tall Sally/Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On
22. An American Trilogy
23. A Big Hunk O' Love
24. Can't Help Falling in Love

'Aloha From Hawaii Via Satallite' would become Elvis' last Billboard #1 album in his home country and would reach #11 here in the UK.
Elvis Presley's new live album release